***Governor Wolf waived background check fees required by the Child Protective Services Law for volunteers and reduced the cost of clearances for employment purposes from $10 to $8. ***
Protecting Pennsylvania’s children from abuse and neglect is a shared responsibility. It requires collaboration from the formal child protective services system, community partners and our citizens to provide local safety nets for children and families that are facing challenges within our communities and neighborhoods.
Recently, 24 pieces of legislation were enacted, changing how Pennsylvania responds to child abuse. These changes significantly impact the reporting, investigation, assessment, prosecution and judicial handling of child abuse and neglect cases.
Frequently Asked Questions: (Click on a question for more information)
Child abuse, according to the CPSL, means intentionally, knowingly or recklessly doing any of the following:
Child abuse also includes certain acts in which the act itself constitutes abuse without any resulting injury or condition. These recent acts include any of the following:
"Recent" is defined as an abusive act within two years from the date the report is made to ChildLine. Sexual abuse, serious mental injury, serious physical neglect and deaths have no time limit.
Questions related to child protection can be sent to the Office of Children, Youth and Families at RA-PWCPSLQuestions@pa.gov.
For questions regarding Child Abuse Referrals, contact ChildLine at 1-800-932-0313.
For questions regarding your Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance Application, contact ChildLine at 1-877-371-5422.
For assistance with your account log- in or other technical issues, contact 1-877-343-0494.